Fresh Perspective

I really enjoyed reading the tips from the Storify resources. While I do find many of these tips more opinion than photography technique, it was still interesting to read about how others strive for a great photo.

Two of the resources stood out to me, and made me want to test them out. The first was the 8 photo techniques. I wanted to try the leading/diagonal lines, selective focus, and get close tips. The first that I tried was the leading/diagonal lines by positioning myself far away from the planters, and following the natural lines of the wood on the deck. I also experimented with the high/low angle in this photo by placing my camera (iphone) directly on the deck. While looking back I probably would have removed the background clutter of the chair and the hanging planter, I think that the photo does illustrate these principles.

Image

 

The photos below demonstrated two perspectives of the same plant. The photo on the left was taken from a high angle, while the photo on the right was taken up close to a bloom of the plant and also used selective focus. I had gone back and forth about whether or not to focus on the leaves or the flowers, and I think retrospectively it would have made for a better photo to focus on the flower. I think it really speaks to Jason Eskenazi’s point of the fact that so much of photography is what the photographer leaves out. By focusing on the bloom, the plant looks completely different. You may even assume that the plant is filled with flowers when, as demonstrated in the photo on the left, is not the case.

ImageImage

The second resource that caught my eye was the 10 Unconventional Tips to Become a Better Photographer. In particular, the tip to take pictures of ugly things. While out on my deck experimenting with these tips, I tested out this bizarre advice and captured a plant that has been through quite a rough winter, which also inspired a potential final project idea. This was a cherry tomato plant that somehow, despite the feet of snow that has covered it all winter, still has a tomato hanging from its stem. I’m not sure it will make the cover of National Geographic, but the tip did get me thinking of how many powerful photos have been taken of “ugly things.” Dorothea Lange’s photography of the effects of the Great Depression were certainly not beautiful in the conventional sense, but they were beautiful in terms of their power and expression.

Image

Taking photos of ugly things.

 

6 thoughts on “Fresh Perspective

  1. Pingback: A Garden for Spring | aprilshowersmayflower

  2. Pingback: And It Finally Feels Like Spring | aprilshowersmayflower

  3. I found the tips from 8 Photo Techniques helpful. I thought about taking a photo of something “ugly” while I was at Joshua Tree NP. I did snap a dead tree stump, but when I looked at it later, I realized it wasn’t as ugly as thought. I felt the same way looking at the photo you took of your blue potted plant. I think there is something poetic and beautiful about it 🙂 If I could modify that one photo tip, I would say, “Take a photo of something you would not normally take a photo of, because you don’t want to remember it later.”

Leave a comment